Subsequent Connections by Elizabeth H (Anghraine, Peradan)

Story: Subsequent Connections
Author: Elizabeth H (Anghraine, Peradan)
Story URL: Story Link 1 *
Alternate URL: Story Link 2
Alternate URL: Story Link 3
Word count:  32,051
Status: MIA (last updated 2010)
Rating: All
Summary:   When Mr Bennet is struck down by a fatal illness, Jane and Elizabeth learn the truth of their relationship to the Fitzwilliams of Yorkshire – and each other. On hiatus.  This is my spin on the “Elizabeth and Jane are really kidnapped Fitzwilliams” premise. It is of course wildly improbable, but I hope you enjoy it nonetheless.

Gioia’s Rec:
I was startled to realize tonight that I had never posted a rec for this story.  Although I rarely recommend stories which are WIPs (Works-in-progress) or on hiatus, such as this one, this story is too much of a favorite for me to refrain from pimping it.

As I’ve mentioned virtually every time I rec a fic in this delicious fandom trope, I get a huge kick out of fics in which Elizabeth turns out to be an heiress – particularly if she’s actually a kidnapped member of Darcy’s own family.  Yes, yes – I know it can be considered crack!fic.  But as I’ve also previously mentioned, I love crack!fics when they are as well-written and imaginative as this one is.

In this story, Mr. Darcy recognizes Jane at a time when Mr. Bennet’s health is failing fast.  The story spends little time in Hertfordshire, instead focusing on the dramatically changed lives of Elizabeth and Jane.  Elizabeth, in particular, is extremely well depicted here.  One of my favorite moments with her is when she is in the home of her newly-discovered relations for the first time, attempting to nap, but really struggling with an overwhelming onslaught of widely varying emotions.  As she is resting upon her bed, not sure whether she is grieving or angry or happy or bereft, she finally succumbs to laughter for the most silly of reasons.  The scene’s entire setup and resolution are so utterly Elizabeth Bennet, so completely her, that it becomes so much easier to imagine our canon protagonist in this situation, in spite of the fanciful nature of the story’s premise.

* I believe the author mentioned somewhere (I don’t recall where) that she is in the process of re-writing this fic to address some concerns she had (see my note below).  I think that the copy of the fic on her own site (See Story Link 1) is the most current draft of “Subsequent Connections.”  To my knowledge, that is also the only location where you can find outtakes from the fic.

My only critique:   Jane’s quick adaption to things was a bit confusing to me, and perhaps a bit sad, but I can’t truly say it was out-of-character (OOC).  Any woman who could bear with such an unperturbed visage all the hysterical behavior of Mrs. Bennet could quite possibly weather any storm more readily than those of us with more tempestuous personalities. 😉  Regardless, the author indicated in a comment I once saw that she was in the process of rewriting that portion of the story to better explain Jane’s mind.

Sadly, this fic has been on hiatus for long enough that I am beginning to be worried. I do hope that the author is able to return to it at some point, but even if that does not occur, I am very thankful for the intriguing, captivating story she has written for us.  In the meantime, the author has also written numerous other utterly fantastic stories, both in this and in several other fandoms (inc. Lord of the Rings, Emma, Pride and Prejudice, Harry Potter, Chronicles of Narnia, Star Wars, Bones, and Lady Susan)  Thank you, Elizabeth!

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Abandoned, MIA or On Hiatus, Alternate Universe, Comeuppance/Vindication/Schadenfreude, Conventional (Canon) Couple, Crack!Fic, Deviates from canon at or after Jane's illness, Deviates from canon in or just prior to Chapter 1, but consistent with canon backstory, Drama/Angst, Elizabeth is wealthy, titled, or connected, Era: Regency, Fluff, Het: M/F, Kidnapping, Lost or rediscovered family connections, Main Character Death, Meetings prior to canon, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Original Character featured, Pride & Prejudice, Prior connections between Darcys and Bennets or related characters, Resolution earlier than in canon, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

