Post Pomp by AmberFocus (ThroughAnAmberFocus)

Story Title:  Post Pomp
Author Name:   ThroughAnAmberFocus (AmberFocus)
Story Url: Story Link
Alternate URL: Story Link 2
Content Rating: Teen
Status: Completed
Length:   32,696
Story Summary:   I know there’s plenty of post Girl in the Fireplace stories, but I’m going to try my hand at one anyway. In mine, the Doctor doesn’t come back after five and a half hours and Rose is left to deal with a very dismal life trapped on a space ship with no hope of rescue. She’s given up hope the Doctor will ever come for her. And maybe she’s right.

Gioia’s Rec:
This is an extremely unusual rec for me, as it’s rather angsty as compared to my usual tastes in stories.  However, this fic is very cathartic somehow, and it all ends well, thus I’ve found myself returning to re-read it several times.

“The Girl in the Fireplace” is one of my favorite Season 2 episodes, however the shipper side of me finds certain story elements to be very frustrating.  (Not surprising, considering the episode writer, Steven Moffat, has never struck me as a fan of the Doctor/Rose ship.)  In the previous episode, “School Reunion,” the Doctor had promised Rose that she was the one person he would never leave; never abandon without a word.  Yet in “Girl in the Fireplace,” he does precisely that without a moment’s hesitation.  The situation all worked out okay in the episode, but the fact that it did seemed to be down to pure chance.  The Doctor had not left himself with a way out.  He left Rose and Mickey in an extremely dangerous situation – far more dangerous than what Madame Pompadour was facing, to be honest, even if the danger in the 51st century appeared far less immediate and dramatic than that in the 18th century.  At Versailles there were soldiers who, I think, should have been able to defeat those repair droids.  On that ship, Rose and Mickey faced death by slow starvation. AmberFocus takes that angsty setup and follows it to a logical conclusion, tying in elements that had never occurred to me, but which fit absolutely perfectly here.  Thus, the fact that this fic is angsty is Steven Moffat’s fault, not Amber’s. 😉  I’m giving Amber the credit for taking that ugly situation and resolving it, while still making the Doctor face the consequences of his thoughtless, impetuous actions.

If, like me, you’re angst-phobic, I really can assure you that the ending fixes everything for the Doctor, Rose and Mickey.  In fact, this story is just one part of a WIP, timey-wimey series called “Jack’s Path,” which, come to think of it, fixes another one of Moffat’s unresolved plot holes: Jack’s pre-WWII life, and those years missing from his life.  And while you’re waiting for the author to finish the Jack’s Path series, which I suspect is going to be epic length by the time she is finished with it, I strongly recommend you check out the rest of her stories.  She’s brilliant at coming up with extremely creative story ideas, as “Post Pomp” clearly demonstrates.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Alternate Universe, Amnesia, ANGST! ANGST! ANGST!, Character Study, Companion: Mickey Smith, Companion: Rose Tyler, Content Rating-DW: Teen (PG-13), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Doctor-10, Doctor/Rose, Drama/Angst, Het: M/F, Hurt/Comfort, Introspective, Jack/Rose, Romance, Rose-centric, Series, Spoilers for DW Series 2, Unconventional Couple and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Post Pomp by AmberFocus (ThroughAnAmberFocus)

  1. nortega1921 says:

    Everytime I see the episode, I go back and read this fic. Apparently I am addicted to the angst of this story @_@

    • Gioia says:

      I was just talking to my husband about this episode yesterday, after we watched Girl in the Fireplace! My husband was teasing me that I always discuss that episode and this fic together. So glad I’m not alone in this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

