Used to be Brilliant by Gillian Taylor (dark_aegis)

Story TitleUsed to be Brilliant
Author Name:   Gillian Taylor (aka dark_aegis on LJ)
Story Url: Story Link
Alternate URL: Story Link 2
Content Rating: All Ages
Status: Completed
Length:   2,184
Story Summary:    It’s that nutter from London. The one with a Lolita fetish. Why does she get followed by the crazies?

Gioia’s Rec:
I’m a huge sucker for any scenario that fixes Donna Noble’s brain, post-“Journey’s End.”  In fact, when “End of Time” was being filmed, I think I was at least as hyped up over the spoilery pictures of Donna on the set as I was over the news that Rose was in the plot.  And, oh! the disappointment I experienced when”End of Time” didn’t include a Donna-fix!  Thus, this story by Gillian Taylor was a real treat.

I’m a huge fan of Gillian’s characterizations of both the 9th and 10th Doctors, but I think I’m most fond of her depiction of Nine.  This fic is a perfect example of how precisely she has captured his voice.   His interactions with Donna are brief, due to the fic’s length.  But thanks to Gillian’s beautifully concise writing style, fitting a great deal of emotions and information into very few words, Gillian manages to convey so much about Donna and Nine, both as individuals and as potential friends.  I am now really sad that we never got to see how those two would have reacted to one another on the show!  However, since the show runners saw fit to deny us that treat, I think I’m going to hold on to the images Gillian has left us with and claim them as my own personal canon.  I tend to have that reaction to a lot of this author’s stories, so this is no surprise. 😀

dark-aegis

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Amnesia, Companion: Donna Noble, Companion: Rose Tyler, Content Rating-DW: All Ages (G-PG), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Doctor Who, Doctor-09, Doctor-10, Donna-centric, Fluff, Friendship/Mentorship, Gen, Hurt/Comfort, post-canon setting, Reunion-fic, Spoilers for DW Series 4 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Used to be Brilliant by Gillian Taylor (dark_aegis)

  1. Pingback: The Adventures of Ten, Rose, and Jack by Sanguine Ink | Gioia Recs…

Leave a Reply

