The Captain Dances by companionenvy

Story Title:  The Captain Dances
Author Name: companionenvy
Story Url: Story Link 1
Content Rating: Teen
Status: Completed
Length: 3,784 words
Story Summary: The Doctor sends post-Children of Earth Jack back to wartime London – and Nancy.

Gioia’s Rec:
I need to quit prefacing fics by saying “this is an unusual rec for me,” as I was about to do with this rec, as it seems the majority of my recent recs aren’t what I consider my “usual.” 🙂

I discovered this fic through a rec by wmr over at Calufrax, an excellent Doctor Who rec’ing community.  It was only the strength of Wendy’s rec which caused me to read this, as my angst phobia usually prevents me from enjoying many of the best stories out there.  And if ever there was something designed to exacerbate my angst phobia, it was “Children of Earth.”  In fact, I’ve recently come to the upsetting conclusion that “Children of Earth” killed my ability to enjoy Torchwood ever again.  The horribly upsetting conclusion to CoE’s story was so traumatizing, so torturous, that I just can’t go near Torchwood again.

So if I’m that much of a mess, imagine how poor Jack was.  I can’t fathom it.  This fic addresses that in the most honest and healing way imaginable.  After reading it, it occurred to me that Jack’s journey in the DW canon began with him causing harm to a child (Jamie in “The Empty Child”) – much to his deep distress and horror – and “Children of Earth” ended with him hurting a child – which just about ended Jack.

This story makes things better in many ways. It doesn’t change canon; it’s not a “fix-it” fic.  It’s about healing.  And while it’s a therapeutic journey for Jack, and that means it is necessarily not an easy journey, the story itself really isn’t that angsty.  It’s the backdrop that is – not the fic.  The fic itself is just sweet, lovely, and very, very, very good.

I’m so glad Companionenvy wrote this.  Who knows – after I meditate upon it for awhile, I may even be able to try watching Torchwood Season 4.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in ANGST! ANGST! ANGST!, Capt. Jack/Other Canon Character, Companion: Capt. Jack Harkness, Content Rating-DW: Teen (PG-13), Doctor Who, Doctor-10, Drama/Angst, Friendship/Mentorship, Het: M/F, Hurt/Comfort, Introspective, Jack-centric, post-canon setting, Spoilers for DW Series 1, Spoilers for DW Series 4.5, Spoilers for TW Series 3/CoE, Unconventional Couple and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

