The Care and Feeding of Tiny Humans (and slightly larger Time Lords) by Netgirly2k (Netgirl_y2k)

Story Title:  The Care and Feeding of Tiny Humans (and slightly larger Time Lords)
Author Name: Netgirl y2k (aka Netgirly2k)
Story Url: Story Link
Alternate URLStory Link
Content Rating:  All Ages
Status: Completed
Length: 1,182 words
Story Summary:  The one where the Doctor comes back for little Amelia Pond.

Gioia’s Rec:
In my previous rec – also for this author -I babbled excessively about Netgirl_y2k’s gift of writing humorous plots and brilliant characterizations using very few words.  In the interest of trying to be concise (for once), too, I’m going to direct you back to that rec for all general fangirly squeeing about Netgirl_y2’s talents as an author.

For this rec, I’d like to point out two important things:
· I almost never rec fics with the Eleventh Doctor;
· In the interest of diversity, I really try to avoid rec’ing too many fics by the same author.
And yet, here I am doing both, because this story is too damn good not to pimp!

I’ve always hated how disappointed young Amelia Pond was by the Doctor’s failure to reappear for her during that bleak time of her life.  This fic’s premise is to ask:  What if he came back?  I’ve always imagined that it would’ve been rather difficult for him to travel with a small child.  And although this fic acknowledges that, it does so from a completely different perspective.  You see, I was thinking as a Mommy.  The Doctor would not, however, see or experience the same problems that I would.  He’s more concerned with Amelia reaching certain levers on the console.  Not unsurprisingly, Amelia’s pragmatic approach to life and to the Doctor serve her well here.  Thus, his utter lack of pragmatism, or even a firm grip on reality, and Amelia’s matter-of-fact common sense match them up surprisingly well.

Before reading this fic, I felt terrible for Amelia Pond’s disappointment, but a part of me thought it was all for the best, as she really was quite young to be traveling on the TARDIS.  Now, I am mostly disappointed about all of the adventures and fun that might’ve been.  This story is brilliant, because Netgirly2k shows us quite clearly how the Doctor & Amelia would’ve been brilliant traveling companions, too.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Baby/Kid-Fic, Companion: Amelia Pond (child), Companion: Sarah Jane Smith, Content Rating-DW: All Ages (G-PG), Doctor Who, Doctor-11, Favorite Story, Favorite Story-Doctor Who, Fluff, Friendship/Mentorship, Gen, Humor/Parody, Sarah Jane Adventures, The, Spoilers for DW Series 5. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Care and Feeding of Tiny Humans (and slightly larger Time Lords) by Netgirly2k (Netgirl_y2k)

  1. Very funny, even if I don’t know who the eleventh doctor is (I’m working my way through season 2, which is the tenth doctor, I think) or the little girl.

Leave a Reply

