The Blanket by Wendi (Wendi Sotis, Wendi Triplet Mom)

Story Title:  The Blanket
Author Name:  Wendi (Wendi Sotis, Wendi Triplet Mom)
Story Url: Story Link
Content Rating:  All
Status: Completed
Length:   4,000 words
Story Summary:   While staying at Netherfield during Jane’s illness, Elizabeth finds out about Darcy’s “security blanket”. When it comes into her possession, he “bear-naps” her “security bear”. AHA July/August playground challenge.

Gioia’s Rec:
This story is absolutely darling. The premise initially struck me as a bit absurd, but as I quickly became engrossed in the narrative, I found that Wendi had brought to life a Mr. Darcy who is both completely consistent with canon, and completely capable of the nervous habit he maintains in this story.  I have an older child who still struggles with a similar behavior.  It is therefore easy for me to imagine how both a shy, lonely boy and a determined, young girl – who is struggling to claim in fact that bravery and boldness which serve as her façade – might each have a “shameful” little secret; one which provides them with the necessary courage to survive in tense social settings.  Further, Wendi’s whimsical story creates a natural-feeling basis for a much earlier emotional connection between Mr. Darcy and Lizzy, as they each discover the other’s secret, and detect neither derision nor condemnation in the other’s eyes.   Finally, aside from the sweet development of their romance, the charming note Mr. Darcy writes, and the spectacularly hot kiss that is depicted, I really liked the deep affection portrayed between a young Mr. Darcy and his grandmother and parents.  It helped to set the perfect tone right from the beginning for this truly charming, imaginative tale.

My Only Critique: Hmm…Nope. I’ve got nothing.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Character Study, Content Rating-P&P: All Ages (G - PG), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Deviates from canon at or after Jane's illness, Drama/Angst, Era: Regency, Fluff, Het: M/F, Hurt/Comfort, Pre-canon setting, Pride & Prejudice, Resolution earlier than in canon, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Blanket by Wendi (Wendi Sotis, Wendi Triplet Mom)

  1. wendisotis says:

    Thanks for the review! What a nice surprise to come home from the hospital to read!

    Wendi

    • Gioia says:

      I’m so happy to have brought you joy! This truly is a fantastic example of you immense talent as a writer.

      And welcome home! I pray your recovery progresses as rapidly and painlessly as possible. *Hugs*

  2. Pingback: Review of “The Blanket” by little ol’ me. | Wendi Sotis

  3. Jennifer Redlarczyk says:

    What a sweet little story. I’ll have to go back to D&Lforum and see what other gems are in the short stories. Loved it. ~jen red~

  4. Ralkana says:

    This story sounds so intriguing that I’m anxiously awaiting my forum registration approval so I can read it!

    I stumbled upon your rec blog somehow, I don’t even know how, and it’s like finding a freaking gold mine! I want to read EVERYTHING! 🙂

    • Gioia says:

      I’m so delighted you’re enjoying my blog, and I know you’ll be just as happy about this fantastic fic. Thanks so much for your comment, and enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

