An Acceptable Arrangement by catie (aka catharsis, catie56)

Story TitleAn Acceptable Arrangement
Author Name:  catie (aka catharsis, catie56)
Story Url: Story Link 1
Alternate Url: Story Link 2
Content Rating:  All Ages
Status: Completed
Length:   12,900 words
Story Summary:   It seemed that, at least in the opinion of the Meryton matrons, a landed gentleman without an heir was an eligible prospect for their single daughters, no matter his age.

Gioia’s Rec:
What a unique and fun story! I’m so excited to have discovered this fic.  I’ve never seen this pairing before, but it made complete sense. I love the idea that, after Mrs. Bennet’s death, Mr. Bennet is aghast to discover that he is suddenly an object of interest to single girls and their parents. It’s quite amusing, and rather fitting, to find Mr. Bennet in the role that Mr. Darcy and Mr. Bingley had to play several years previously.  I love his snarky inner monologue about his neighbors and their expectations. I also love the letters he exchanges with his daughters, particularly those from Elizabeth.  And I love what a hidden gem of wit, humor, and insight into human nature this story is.  It’s not very long, but it’s really worth reading. I’m fairly sure that in my mind’s own imaginings about what happened when P&P ended, this scenario is now going to be my personal canon.

I won’t say anything more, lest I spoil you. But if you want further pairing details, check out the JAFF index’s listing for this story.  (You’ll need to google for an age-appropriate password.)

My Only Critique: There is nothing about this story which, I think, will be a hindrance to anyone enjoying it. The writing is perfect, the plot is canon-consistent, and all the characters are accurately depicted. So since I have nothing to critique, I shall use this space to complain about how hard this story is to tag. 😉 (And in case it needs saying, the following rant is very much tongue-in-cheek.)  This story isn’t exactly a canon pairing, nor is it an unconventional (UC) pairing. We don’t know what happened in canon after this point in the timeline. So, it’s not exactly a sequel; but it could be. It’s not really a romance; but then, how does one define a romance? I tell my kids all the time to marry their best friend someday. And if I can’t tag this as a romance, I can’t really tag it as a “gen” fic, either. So my critique is that tagging this surprisingly complex story made my brain hurt.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Content Rating-P&P: All Ages (G - PG), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Drama/Angst, Era: Regency, Fluff, Friendship/Mentorship, Het: M/F, Introspective, post-canon setting, Pride & Prejudice, Unconventional Couple and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

