Crossing Paths by Cheryl K

Story Title:  Crossing Paths
Author Name: Cheryl K
Story Url: Story Link
Content Rating:  All Ages
Status: Completed
Length:   26,100 words
Story Summary:   On her first anniversary, Mrs. Elizabeth Darcy goes for a walk in the garden, but on returning to Pemberley, she finds things are not as they were when she left.

Gioia’s Rec:
This story brought tears to my eyes. It was so lovely!

I’ve mentioned before that I love P&P stories which successfully incorporate elements of the mystical, fantastical or sci-fi. This author does a marvelous job of incorporating the idea of a parallel world into Jane Austen’s universe. There’s not a lot I can say about this plot without spoiling it, except to promise readers that it is not ridiculous or absurd, as I imagine some would fear about a story that incorporates such a radical idea into the traditional world of Pride & Prejudice.

In many ways, “Crossing Paths” is a sequel to Pride & Prejudice.  In some ways, it is an AU (Alternate Universe), in which we see all that could have been.  At the very end of the story, it is in some ways a prequel to P&P.  And to make sense of all of that nonsense, you’ll have to go read the story. I promise it will be worth it.

My Only Critique: I’d kill for an epilogue or sequel!  ETA: Thanks to Kat in the comments below, I see that Nat KC wrote two sequels to Cheryl K’s story.  Che bello!  I have since read both sequels, and they were great fun, with the first, A Cleared Path (Crossed Paths I), becomng a new favorite of mine. Now if only the rest of my wishes could be answered so promptly and so completely!

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Alternate Universe, Content Rating-P&P: Mature (R), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Deviates from canon in or just prior to Chapter 1, but consistent with canon backstory, Drama/Angst, Era: Regency, Fantasy/Folklore/Mythology, Fluff, Friendship/Mentorship, Het: M/F, Hurt/Comfort, Main Character Death, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Mr. Wickham/Georgiana Darcy, Mr. Wickham/Lydia Bennet, Mystery/Suspense, post-canon setting, Pride & Prejudice, Reunion-fic, Romance, Series and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crossing Paths by Cheryl K

    • Gioia says:

      How wonderful! And I see from Nat KC’s profile that he wrote two sequels to Cheryl K’s story. Thank you very much for linking me! I hate reaching the end of a great story and not having something good lined up to read next. You have solved that nicely for me. 😉

Leave a Reply

