The Best Thing I Ever Did by Minisinoo

Story Title:  The Best Thing I Ever Did
Author NameMinisinoo
Story Url: Story Link 1
Alternate Url: Story Link 2
Content Rating:  All Ages
Status:Completed
Length:   2,818 words
Story Summary:   Two years after Cedric’s death, when the Ministry of Magic has finally admitted Voldemort is back, a bitter Amos Diggory reflects. And is met with a surprise. Sometimes the people we think we know can surprise us.

Gioia’s Rec:
My first introduction to the world of Harry Potter coincided with the release of Book 4.  I remember, during that wait for Book 5, that I re-read scenes from the previous 4 books and periodically wondered at Amos Diggory’s obnoxious behavior.  I understand it better, now, as my eldest is soon to go out into the world on his own, with great academic success behind him and a life of committed service before him.  I can better understand why Amos Diggory can’t shut up about his brave, kind-hearted, intelligent boy, even when he inadvertently makes others feel bad.  I still think Amos was being obnoxious; but I can understand him now.

Minisinoo’s story, “The Best Thing I Ever Did,” is told from the POV of Amos a few years after Cedric’s death.  It’s interesting, but not at all surprising, to see the precise, long-term impact of Cedric’s death on Amos and his wife.  Min’s professional experience in helping suffering families is evident here, as she realistically, unflinchingly and matter-of-factly depicts the aftermath of a child’s death.  But she doesn’t leave things there.  Readers of this blog will know I’m not a fan of angst, so it shouldn’t surprise you that there is something amazingly beautiful waiting at the end of this tale.  Something that, I suspect, many parents who have lost a son have secretly wished for.  Not the resurrection of the dead; something else – something more accessible.  And for Mr. & Mrs. Diggory, that something brings about their salvation along with a reminder once again of why Cedric was the best thing they ever did.

Excellent work, Min.

And for those of you who are new to Minsinoo’s work, check out her LJ or her old website or my rec of “Finding Himself” – one of my absolute favorite stories, published or not, ever to be written.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Character Study, Content Rating-HP: All Ages (G-PG), Drama/Angst, Gen, Harry Potter, Hurt/Comfort, Introspective, Outsider-POV, Spoilers for Goblet of Fire, Tragedy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

