A Glimpse by Alicia M

Story: A Glimpse
Author: Alicia M
Story URL: Story Link
Word count: 13,000
Rating: All
Summary: Dreams bring Darcy and Elizabeth closer together, but their actual meetings do not.

Gioia’s Rec:
This is one of my favorites out of the P&P stories which have a fantasy or time-travel basis to their plots.  In this sweet, introspective tale, Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth share a pair of dreams showing them what life would be like if they were married.  Mr. Darcy inadvertently initiates the first dream, set on the night of the Netherfield Ball, at a time when he was struggling with questions about Elizabeth’s suitability as his wife.  As a result of the dream, and the conversation they share the next day, several months of angst are averted for some characters. But Mr. Darcy and Elizabeth still have a ways to go before they can reach an understanding, which is helped along by the second dream some time later.

I liked that last bit.  The fact that they don’t immediately fall into each other’s arms was a nice addition. As much as I often enjoy stories in which the pair are depicted as passionate and occasionally impulsive, I appreciate stories in which the resolution isn’t rushed, and where we still see them struggle to learn the lessons from canon.  They each need to be humbled a bit. They each need to learn not to take things for granted.  And they each need to learn the true worth of the other.  Alicia does a great job of balancing those introspective moments and life lessons with the captivating fantasy elements.  The story is truly moving in many places and well worth a read.

My only critique: I enjoyed it so much I wish it had been longer!

This post is a re-write of a much shorter rec originally posted in November 2010.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Content Rating-P&P: All Ages (G - PG), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Deviates from canon at or post-Netherfield Ball, Era: Regency, Fantasy/Folklore/Mythology, Fluff, Het: M/F, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Pride & Prejudice, Resolution earlier than in canon, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Glimpse by Alicia M

  1. June says:

    I tried the story link and it seams not to work. If you know anywhere it is still posted a would
    appreciate it. Thank you.

    • Gioia says:

      Thank you very much for letting me know! With the help of jaffindex.com, I was able to find it over at DWG. I’ve updated the link above now.

Leave a Reply

