To Be Mistress of Pemberley Might Be Something by Brenna

Story: To Be Mistress of Pemberley Might Be Something
Author: Brenna
Story URL: Story Link
Word count: 1,300
Rating: All
Summary: After seeing Mrs. Darcy hard at work, Caroline Bingley decides she’s better off single.

Gioia’s Rec:
One reason for this blog’s existence is that I am dreadful at remembering story titles and author names.  Plots, characterizations, scenes – all those stay with me quite easily.  But not titles or names.  As a result of both my flaw and this particular story’s extremely memorable scenes, I’ve gone hunting for this fic on numerous occasions.

This has become my inner canon for how I imagine Elizabeth & Darcy’s first Christmas.  I particularly like how much is crammed into this tiny story. The Bennet family snow games are awesome, particularly Georgiana’s participation in them. This story gives us an excellent glimpse at why Elizabeth loves her family so much. Caroline’s set down is just the cream-cheese icing on top of this already delicious tale.

My Only Critique: I’m stretching here for anything I could possibly critique. Possibly Elizabeth’s use of the word “career” in relation to her role is a bit too modern of a term? …Nope; looks like it dates to 1803 in that context.  Obviously the author knows the Regency era far better than I do!

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Comeuppance/Vindication/Schadenfreude, Content Rating-P&P: All Ages (G - PG), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Era: Regency, Favorite Story, Favorite Story-Pride & Prejudice, Fluff, Gen, Het: M/F, Holiday, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, post-canon setting, Pride & Prejudice and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

