Revenge by wmr (aka WendyMR)

Story Title:  Revenge
Author Namewmr (aka WendyMR)
Category:  Doctor Who
Story Url: Story Link
Alternate Url: Story Link
Content Rating: All Ages
Status: Completed
Length:  1,808 words
Story Summary:  “Good to see you again, Captain, but could we save the reunion hugs until we find the TARDIS?” Set somewhere after New Earth and is not Utopia-compliant.

Team TARDIS animation by LJ user cowboyhd

Animation by LJ user cowboyhd

Gioia’s Rec:
I love Doctor Who “Reunion fics” featuring Rose and the Doctor. I also love Reunion fics in which Capt. Jack is reunited with Team TARDIS.  In fact, one of my few major gripes about “Journey’s End” was that we didn’t get to see a Rose/Jack reunion.  So although this short story isn’t long enough for me to get too detailed without spoiling it for you, suffice it to say that Wendy gives us an awesome reunion scene between all parties.  I also love the punchline.  It took me by surprise and had me laughing at the perfect touch of schadenfreude.

I’ve been very remiss in bringing over my Doctor Who recs, so in case it hasn’t been said before, WendyMR is an absolutely brilliant writer. I recommend everything she has written.  She has such a creative mind for the sci-fi genre, but she is also focused on dialogue and scenes which are character-driven (with oodles of keen, psychological insights into her characters) as well as amazing romantic moments.  I can’t begin to express my utter devotion for her stories.  And since she obviously has such great taste, I strongly urge anyone looking for DW recs featuring the 9th or 10th Doctors to go through Wendy’s recs here and here.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Comeuppance/Vindication/Schadenfreude, Companion: Capt. Jack Harkness, Companion: Rose Tyler, Content Rating-DW: All Ages (G-PG), Doctor Who, Doctor-10, Fluff, Friendship/Mentorship, Gen, Reunion-fic, Spoilers for DW Series 1 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

