Left Behind by Azriona

Story Title:  Left Behind
Author NameAzriona
Category:    Doctor Who and Torchwood
Story Url: Story Link 1
Story Url: Story Link 2
Content Rating:  Teen
Status: Completed
Length: 14,366 words
Story Summary:   After a hundred and fifty years, Jack Harkness is used to saying goodbye. He’s just getting the hang of saying hello.

Gioia’s Rec:

Animated Gif by LJ User lambietoes

Azriona takes an incredibly cool, incredibly perceptive look at Torchwood/Doctor Who canon and does something incredibly exciting with this story.

I honestly don’t understand why nobody else thought to do this.  I once found a very fun story in which Rose was sent back in time by the Weeping Angels to the time of “Human Nature”/”Family of Blood,” and thus landed back in her own universe before it split to Pete’s World.  But I think that may be the only story I’ve ever encountered in which there was some crossover between Pete’s World and our world simply by going back in time.  Even so, I have to echo Azriona here and admit that I’m surprised nobody else seems to have thought of another time in DW canon in which this could’ve happened:

When Jack was buried in the year 27 A.D. by his bratty, bitter brother and Spike.

Holy cow. How did we fans miss this?  That would’ve happened before the universes split.  That means that in Pete’s World,  Capt. Jack was buried under Cardiff and in need of rescue.  This means that in my own personal canon, I’m henceforth going to believe things went exactly as Azriona writes them in this story.  This is sheer genius.

I realize I should be writing a far more insightful rec. I need to talk about Azriona’s writing style (awesome), technique (awesome), and skill (awesome).  But frankly, I’m still floored by the epiphany brought on by her story premise.  Guess what?  It’s awesome.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Alternate Universe, Companion: Capt. Jack Harkness, Companion: Rose Tyler, Content Rating-DW: Teen (PG-13), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Doctor Who, Doctor-10, Doctor/Rose/Jack, Drama/Angst, Fluff, Het: M/F, Het: Multiple, Hurt/Comfort, Introspective, Jack/Rose, Pete'sWorld or AU version of a canon character, post-canon setting, Romance, Spoilers for DW Series 4, Spoilers for TW Series 2, Threesome, Torchwood, Unconventional Couple and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Left Behind by Azriona

  1. Sharon says:

    Thank you! What a lovely rec. 🙂 I’m so glad people are still enjoying this story.

  2. Pingback: Turn Your Back, Look Away and Blink by CharmingSlayer (aka Lumendea) | Gioia Recs…

Leave a Reply

