Untitled by isawthephoto

Story Title:  Untitled
Author Name: isawthephoto
Category:   Doctor Who
Story Url: Part 1; Part 2 (directly below Part 1)
Content Rating:  All Ages
Status: Completed
Length:   1,100 words
Story Summary:   Doctor Who, Eleven/Rose

Gioia’s Rec:

"Rose is coming back. Isn't that good?"

Icon by LJ user Christn7

This is an unusual rec for me, not simply because it’s little more than a thousand words in length, but because it doesn’t even have a title. But it’s really intriguing and lovely and captivating, so I just have to recommend it.

In a distant future, the Eleventh Doctor is in Barcelona (the city, not the planet), running from “a beach, a girl, a woman. Funny how that seems to be a trend with him.” (Great line, isn’t it?) He bumps into Rose Tyler, wearing a blue jacket and hopping universes while searching time and space for her Doctor.

I’ve seen other stories which give us a glimpse of what Rose’s journey must’ve been like between “Partners In Crime” and “Journey’s End,” but this is a sweet snapshot of what might’ve happened had Rose stumbled upon a later Doctor who already knows how her journey will end. By the time I finished reading, there was no “might’ve” about it – this became my definite, personal canon.

The story idea is creative and very carefully fleshed-out. I like how it doesn’t tell us too much. There are a lot of gaps left for our imaginations to fill in. But it’s so hugely emotional and so utterly grand in its scope. It’s the type of story that makes me smile for the rest of the day as I sort of mentally roll around in the huge, deep well of emotions that the Doctor exposes, and I imagine all the things that were left unsaid. It’s beautiful.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Companion: Rose Tyler, Content Rating-DW: All Ages (G-PG), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Doctor Who, Doctor-11, Doctor/Rose, Drama/Angst, Fluff, Het: M/F, Hurt/Comfort, Missing Moment, Reunion-fic, Romance, Spoilers for DW Series 4, Spoilers for DW Series 6 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

