A Man of No Consequence by Heather F (Quill)

Story Title:  A Man of No Consequence
Author Name:  Heather (Quill)
Category:    Pride & Prejudice
Story Url: Story Link
Story Url: Story Link
Story Url: Story Link
Content Rating:  All Ages
Status: Completed
Length:   44,500 words
Story Summary:   An accident forces Mr. Bennet to ask for Elizabeth’s help in managing his estate, while Bingley’s arrival at Netherfield coincides with the abrupt departure of its dishonest steward. When Darcy offers to find a suitable replacement, his generosity has unexpected repercussions.

Gioia’s Rec:
I loved this story so much. It was an absolute delight to encounter after a day that was truly dreadful.  This should come as no shock seeing as Heather is one of my favorite JAFF authors.  Therefore, when she tackles this fun story idea (Elizabeth mistakes Darcy for the steward of Netherfield. Hijinks and Romance ensue.), of course it’s going to turn out brilliantly.

Normally, I wouldn’t put up a rec this short, as I worry it appears to be “damning with faint praise.” But if y’all will forgive my brevity and consider this a placeholder for now, I’d appreciate it. There’s no way for me to put any real thought into writing an apt recommendation for this beautiful tale right now, given what else I’m juggling.

“A Man of No Consequence” deserves enormous praise. It’s well-written, it’s funny, it’s extremely insightful and introspective.  Read it. And then feel free to stop back here with your own praise.  I’ll probably plagiarize it. 😉

My Only Critique: More, please!

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Character Study, Content Rating-P&P: All Ages (G - PG), Deviates from canon in or just prior to Chapter 1, but consistent with canon backstory, Drama/Angst, Era: Regency, Favorite Story-Pride & Prejudice, Fluff, Het: M/F, Introspective, Meetings prior to canon, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Pride & Prejudice, Resolution earlier than in canon, Romance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

