A Conversation Behind the Tapestries by BethW

Story Title:  A Conversation Behind the Tapestries
Author NameBethW
Category:   Pride & Prejudice
Story Url: Story Link
Content Rating:  All Ages
Status: Completed
Length:   31,600 words
Story Summary:   Darcy is delayed in town, so does not arrive at Netherfield until shortly before the Netherfield Ball. He meets Elizabeth Bennet in the most unlikely of places.

Gioia’s Rec:
“A Conversation Behind the Tapestries” is a surprising story.  I expected it to be similar to the delightful Behind the Potted Plant by Steve.  (It isn’t.)  Then I thought it would be similar to An Arranged Marriage by Jan H. (It isn’t.)  BethW manages to make this story wholly fresh and unique in spite of the fact that, at first glance, it might seem as if this story has already been told. (It hasn’t.)

There are lovely, fun, whimsical moments scattered throughout this story which stayed with me long after I read it.  For example, Elizabeth’s methods of subtle, passive-aggressive revenge against her mother are utterly in keeping with the mischievous nature she displayed in canon, as well as her non-confrontational way of coping with her often abrasive mother.  And when Elizabeth’s childhood friends (three of the neighborhood young men) decide to get involved, the author had me in stitches!  Feathers, Frogs and Revenge, Oh My!

As with my other recent rec, I must apologize to the author for my inability to get into much detail here.  She deserves far more praise than I’m capable of delivering at the moment.  So I’ll simply encourage readers to dive into this charming story with great alacrity.  You’ll be glad you did.

Finally, don’t miss the witty follow-up vignette, “Darcy Procures A Bonnet!”

My Only Critique: BethW is another of my favorite JAFF authors. In fact, the only real criticism I can level at her is that we don’t see enough of her, in my greedy opinion. (Curse my inability to put favorite writers on retainer!)  Thankfully, she has a new story in progress, which I am eagerly waiting to read upon completion.  I’m not at all impatient, either.  Nor do I ever lie.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Content Rating-P&P: All Ages (G - PG), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Deviates from canon at or after Meryton Assembly, Deviates from canon at or post-Netherfield Ball, Era: Regency, Fluff, Het: M/F, Humor/Parody, Marriage rushed or urged due to compromising situation, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Collins/Other canon character, Pride & Prejudice, Resolution earlier than in canon, Romance, Unconventional Couple and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

