The Gypsy Blessing by Wendi (Wendi Sotis, Wendi Triplet Mom)

Story Title:  The Gypsy Blessing
Author Name:  Wendi (Wendi Sotis, Wendi Triplet Mom)
Category:    Pride & Prejudice
Story Url: Story Link
Content Rating:  All Ages
Status: Complete
Length:  107,200 words
Story Summary:  Whilst taking a solitary ramble on her father’s estate, Elizabeth Bennet finds an injured woman, cares for her, and helps her return to her gypsy camp. Impressed that a gentlewoman would come to his wife’s aid, the king of the gypsies promises that she will find happiness through his wife’s special blessing. Forgetting the incident, Elizabeth thinks it merely odd when she begins to receive drawings in the mail with no return address—until she begins to recognize the scenes depicted in the sketches as they become true events in her life.

Gioia’s Rec:
As I’ve mentioned before, very little delights me as much as an author who can blend a fantasy or magical element with the world of P&P in a seamless, natural way. Wendi achieves this beautifully in “The Gypsy Blessing.”

Wendi’s warm heart and compassionate nature shine through in this story. Elizabeth Bennet displays a kindness that is very familiar to those of us who learned to love her in Jane Austen’s book; there is a sort of liberality and equality in her good wishes for all mankind which were rather unusual for a lady of that era. Elizabeth’s egalitarianism leads to a blessing which will help speed her along to her own happiness, saving many of those she loves from great suffering along the way.

Wendi concludes this magnificent, dramatic, tenderhearted tale with the promise of a sequel which looks equally wonderful. I am absolutely wild to see what comes next when Wendi bestows the Gypsy Blessing upon the next recipient.

My Only Critique: I swore I’d try to be consistent by always including this section in my P&P stories. But what on earth am I to write about when there are no typos, no technical writing errors, and the narrative itself is perfect?

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Comeuppance/Vindication/Schadenfreude, Content Rating-P&P: All Ages (G - PG), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Deviates from canon in or just prior to Chapter 1, but consistent with canon backstory, Drama/Angst, Era: Regency, Fantasy/Folklore/Mythology, Fluff, Friendship/Mentorship, Het: M/F, Meetings prior to canon, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Pre-canon setting, Pride & Prejudice, Resolution earlier than in canon, Romance, Violence or Abuse-Non-sexual and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Gypsy Blessing by Wendi (Wendi Sotis, Wendi Triplet Mom)

  1. Marte says:

    This was a really good story, thank you for recommending it. Hope you are all well.

  2. Wendi Sotis says:

    Wow, thanks, Gioia! What a nice surprise.

    I have Gayle Mills and Robin Helm to thank for the lack of typos and errors. Believe me, you’d see a lot of them without their help.

    I’m very happy to hear your husband is home 🙂

    • Gioia says:

      Thanks for your reply, Wendi! Your editors have definitely done a fantastic job; what a difference good editing makes! Kudos to them and to you for the hard work!

      Your story has stuck with me now for the 10 days since I finished it, constantly teasing my mind with musings about what the sequel will be like. I can’t wait! That was a FANTASTIC setup with which you concluded your tale!

      And thanks for your kind words! I’m so happy hubby is home, too. This has been pretty scary. It’s a joy to have him at my side.

  3. winda says:

    I can’t find the story 😦

    • Gioia says:

      Thank you for letting me know! I used jaffindex.com to find it over at Amazon. It is available as an ebook for $0.99 or paperback for $11.93. It is no longer online for free. I’m going to be snatching up that 99¢ deal for myself. The book is definitely worth it! :-). Hope that helps!

Leave a comment