Gingerbread by DameRuth

Story Title:  Gingerbread
Author NameDameRuth
Category:    Doctor Who
Story Url: Story Link
Content Rating:  All Ages (or maybe Teen, for innuendo)
Status: Complete
Length:   5,576 words
Story Summary:  Working for alt!Torchwood, Rose meets a familiar face — but is he someone she knows or a total stranger?

Gioia’s Rec:

Captain Jack. Seriously.  By CowboyHD

Captain Jack. Seriously. By CowboyHD

I’ve always adored this story. So much so, that I recently went looking for it over at the Whofic Lost & Found. (I’m terrible at remembering story titles; thus the original purpose of this blog.) Thankfully, WendyMR is still adept at reading my mind and pointed me over to this story.

Because it’s a short story, there’s not a lot I can tell you without spoiling it. Rose lives in Pete’s World, works for Torchwood, and seems to be doing a generally good job of living a fantastic life. Then one day she and her partner, Jake, go to meet up with an alien who contacts Torchwood about selling an alien artifact. Hello, Capt. Jack. How you doin’?

Because the author is DameRuth, the story isn’t merely fluffy. There is actual character development here. But overall, this can best be described as a fun, light, whimsical burst of awesomeness.

While you’re at it, I strongly recommend everything else written by DameRuth. I’d kill for her talent. But since she’s a pretty amazing person, I’ll happily settle for her stories.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Alternate Universe, Companion: Capt. Jack Harkness, Companion: Rose Tyler, Content Rating-DW: All Ages (G-PG), Doctor Who, Drama/Angst, Favorite Story, Fluff, Het: M/F, Jack/Rose, Original Character/Canon Character, Pete'sWorld or AU version of a canon character, post-canon setting, Rose-centric, Unconventional Couple and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

