The Cold Heaven by WendyMR (WMR)

Story Title:  The Cold Heaven
Author Name:  WendyMR (aka WMR)
Category:  Doctor Who
Category: Torchwood
Story Url: Story Link
Alternate Url: Story Link 2
Content Rating:  Teen
Status: Completed
Length:   52,777 words
Story Summary:   “They say black holes are like gateways to another universe” – Rose Tyler, The Impossible Planet. Spoilers for DW up to Journey’s End and TW up to Children of Earth.

Gioia’s Rec:

(fanartist unknown)

Rose, Doctor & Jack

“Children of Earth” is absolutely detestable. There. I’ve said it. I loathe the 5-part Torchwood miniseries. I try never to think about it; it gives me nightmares. As a mom, that series sickened me, and I’m still furious with Russell T Davies for crossing that line.

As a result of my hatred for that series, I’ve never sought out fanfic based upon it. So I suppose it’s not too surprising that I would have therefore missed this story by one of my favorite authors. I’m so glad I finally read it.

“Cold Heaven” isn’t set during that series-which-shall-not-be-named. It’s set after Jack leaves Earth. He ends up in Pete’s World and encounters the metacrises Doctor and Rose, kicking off a story that is far deeper and more moving than one might imagine. As proof of that, I offer the fact that this is the first Doctor-Rose-Jack story of Wendy’s that only merits a “Teen” rating. The focus isn’t on adult-rated moments, but on character development. Wendy’s Hurt/Comfort stories are always very gripping, but this rates as one of her best thanks to the very careful, gradual progression of both the plot and of Jack’s journey. Nothing is rushed here; nothing can be taken for granted, either. Well, perhaps one thing: As with all of Wendy’s stories, this one is excellent.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Alternate Universe, Capt. Jack/Ianto, Character Study, Companion: Capt. Jack Harkness, Companion: Rose Tyler, Content Rating-DW: Teen (PG-13), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Doctor Who, Doctor-10, Doctor-10.5, Doctor/Rose/Jack, Drama/Angst, Friendship/Mentorship, Het: M/F, Het: Multiple, Hurt/Comfort, Introspective, Main Character Death, post-canon setting, Reunion-fic, Romance, Slash, Spoilers for DW Series 4, Spoilers for TW Series 3/CoE, Threesome, Torchwood, Tragedy, Unconventional Couple and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Cold Heaven by WendyMR (WMR)

  1. Bea says:

    I’ve been reading and following your Recs for quite some time now–how you’ve gotten me addicted to Wendy!!–so I’d like to make one to you and return the favor: https://archiveofourown.org/series/1291

    It’s a Doctor Who/Vorkosigan novels crossover. Features Ten (mostly) with transitions to Eleven. With Amelia, and Amy-n-Rory. The author’s got the character voices down beautifully.

    • Gioia says:

      Oh, that’s just brilliant. (And yes, I’m using my best Ten voice there.) I’m reading the series descriptions now and it sounds wonderful. I adore getting recs and I’m very excited to read it! Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

