Darcy on the Hudson by Mary Lydon Simonsen

Story Title: Darcy on the Hudson
Author Name:  Mary Lydon Simonsen
Category:   Pride & Prejudice, Published Book
Story Url: Story Link
Content Rating:  Teen
Status: Completed
Length:   268 pages
Story Summary:   When Fitzwilliam Darcy, Georgiana Darcy, and Charles Bingley set sail from England to New York, each travels with a different purpose. Georgiana wants to put a particularly jarring incident involving a family friend behind her, and Charles wishes to visit his uncle in an exciting new land. For Darcy, it is an opportunity to explore the possibilities of new sources of wealth in the expanding United States, but once Darcy meets American Elizabeth Bennet, it is the beginning of a love story. But will cultural differences and a possible second war with England keep them apart?

Gioia’s Rec:
Darcy on the Hudson represents another opportunity for me to whine about Mary Lydon Simonsen costing me a night of sleep. I’m beginning to detect a trend here. Her entrancing book begins with detailed research which has clearly preceded the writing process. I now know why a certain shade of blue is so associated with all things Dutch. I know that the Erie canal was built by private investors, and loads of people thought it was destined to be an engineering failure. I know that the weird layout in my grandparents’ home, wherein there are no hallways, but rather a series of interconnected rooms, is a Dutch style of architecture. I also know that if I’m going to start one of Mary’s books at night, I need to set a timer so that I can get some sleep.

Another trend I’ve noticed in the last 3 books I’ve read by this author: She cuts through the angst born from misunderstandings and focuses on the plots. I adore this. I’ve always had a preference for stories in which the conflict comes from problems originating outside the relationship; not from within. Darcy on the Hudson continues that theme by giving us an Elizabeth and Darcy who get along and are attracted to one another almost from the very beginning. Their major dilemma is that Lizzy’s independent spirit seems right at home in the post-Revolutionary World of the United States, whereas Darcy’s conservative nature is more comfortable within the structured world of his native England. Although they each enjoy and appreciate the other’s country, it’s hard to imagine either Elizabeth or Mr. Darcy giving up their native land for a life with the other.

Mary Lydon Simonsen has easily become one of my favorite authors of historical novels. Ultimately, in spite of how much I enjoyed the character development and the intriguing plot, it is her careful research and the resulting details-rich narrative which so completely captivates me. She’s a meticulous story planner; that’s clear. And she does a marvelous job of carefully working through each character’s personal growth. But nothing compares to the way she makes her historical settings come alive. Barely a chapter in, and I swear I could hear the sounds of the Hudson River and smell the crisp air, all while sitting on a front porch at sunset with Mr. Darcy.

My Only Critique:  I think I caught a few missing commas, but that was it. There’s nothing to criticize here. Mr. Darcy on the Hudson is about as close to perfect as I’ve ever seen.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Content Rating-P&P: Teen (PG-13), Conventional (Canon) Couple, Drama/Angst, Elizabeth is wealthy, titled, or connected, Era: Regency, Fluff, Friendship/Mentorship, Het: M/F, Hurt/Comfort, Improved Lydia, Introspective, Mr. Bingley/Jane Bennet, Mr. Darcy/Elizabeth Bennet, Original Character featured, Pride & Prejudice, Religious/Faith/Spiritual element, Resolution earlier than in canon, Rivals vying for Darcy's or Elizabeth's affections, Romance and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Darcy on the Hudson by Mary Lydon Simonsen

  1. Gensing says:

    Hello, Gioia!
    So happy to see you posting as I pray this means things are better now. Amazon recommended this book for me a while back and I was dubious. But reading your recommendation has convinced me to have that downloaded to my mobile device – how I love Kindle! And I understand the problem with MLS’s books: I started reading “Becoming Mrs. Darcy” last night and stayed up much to late reading.
    Thank you, again, for your great recommendations.

    • Gioia says:

      Thank you so much! Things are better, though they’re about to get a lot busier as we move to be closer to a particular doctor. But we have a diagnosis and hope for tomorrow, and that’s an amazing gift from God.

      I realized recently that I had a backlog of recommendations, so I’ll probably be posting at least a few more after I clean them up. I had a few times over the last several months when I had access to the books or fics, but no internet in order to upload the recs. 🙂

      I’m thrilled to hear you’ve enjoyed MLS’s books, too! “Becoming Mrs. Darcy,” as I’m sure you saw, is a great one. I actually think I enjoyed “Darcy on the Hudson” even more, though, which should tell you something since you already know how good “Becoming” is! If/when you try “Darcy Goes to War,” I’d be interested in hearing your thoughts on it, as I was conflicted, even though it was a fantastic book.

      Thanks again to you, too!

Leave a Reply

