The Broken Wall by TaraSoleil

Story TitleThe Broken Wall
Author NameTaraSoleil
Category:  Harry Potter
Story Url: Story Link
Content Rating:  Mature
Status: Complete
Length:   80,648 words
Story Summary:   It was only a book. No harm ever came from reading a book.

Gioia’s Rec:
What a delight this story was!  I’m not normally a fan of stories in which Harry encounters the Mauraders as teenagers.  But this story introduces Harry to his parents in such an unusual way, it easily won me over.  This is not a time travel story, for starters.  In some ways it reminds me of SamVimes’ story “The Cartographer’s Craft.”  If you’ve read a time travel story in which Lily falls in love with James Potter just because she learns that they ended up married together, or if you’ve seen a teenage James try to act like a father to Harry, don’t make any assumptions about “The Broken Wall.”  None of that occurs here.

The focus of this story really isn’t on Harry and his parents.  The person who brought about this miracle isn’t too much of a surprise, though I won’t spoil you here.  The focus of the story is on that person and on the repercussions of those actions.  Dumbledore’s oft quoted canon remark, that it is our choices which define us, is certainly applicable here.  Can magic which is meant to be evil be used with good intentions?  And if so, are there repercussions?

“The Broken Wall” is two parts action/adventure, one part romance, and, if you choose to focus upon it, perhaps one part wisdom mixed with hope.  (Feel free to ignore that bizarre formula. I’ve never claimed to be good at math.)  Don’t let the latter parts intimidate you, though, if you’re not in the mood for deep thinking.  Though I admittedly inhaled this story too quickly to focus excessively on the contemplative moments, I’ve been left feeling reflective afterwards, thanks to the marvelous writing, the characters’ careful contemplations, and the author’s own insightful thoughts, made obvious in every carefully crafted moment within this story.

In the end, though, it isn’t the deep thoughts which made me such a fan of “The Broken Wall.”  It’s the pure fun and excitement which captivated my imagination.

Spoilers are below in the tags, so I’d recommend avoiding them for now, especially as the sole ship is like nothing I’ve ever read before.

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in Action/Adventure, Content Rating-HP: Mature (R), Harry Potter, Hermione-centric, Maurader-centric, Sirius Black/Hermione Granger, Spoilers for Half-Blood Prince and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Broken Wall by TaraSoleil

  1. Jamafanta says:

    Sounds very interesting! A new complete, intriguing, and long Harry Potter fic. What a nice surprise!

    • Gioia says:

      Amen to that! It gets frustrating trying to find HP stories which are new, completed and well written, doesn’t it?

      • Azerty says:

        Hey, there.
        First of all, thanks for this review. I’ve just started Broken Wall. Admittedly, I visited your site for spoilers, but I’m still rather glad there aren’t any.

        Second, I’ve got some recs for you:
        1. Nihil est ab omni parte beatum by Seselt [Completed]
        2. Alternate History by Incarnadine [Completed]
        3. Harry Potter and the Prince of Slytherin [WIP; regularly updated until Second Year. Third Year will begin posting on September 1 this year] – Though this is a WIP, I think it’s really great and worth a read. It’s a very interesting take on the Slytherin!Harry trope. I really liked it and I hope you would, too.

      • Gioia says:

        Oh, this is marvelous! What a treat you’ve given me tonight! May I please trouble you with a request to post your recs under the Share Your Recs page? That way, I’ll be certain to find them the next time I go digging for new recs. You don’t need to adjust your formatting or make any other chages.

        Regardless, I am thrilled to pieces by your kind remarks and the new treasures you have brought me. Grazie!

Leave a Reply

