Gravity is a Harsh Mistress by Rachael Sabotini (wickedwords)

Story Title:  Gravity is a Harsh Mistress
Author Name:  
Category:  The Martian
Content Rating:  Teen
Status: Complete
Length:  2,996 words
Story Summary:  Mark didn’t come away from Mars completely unscathed.

Gioia’s Rec:
I’d really like to believe that Mark was capable of a lot more physical exertion immediately after rescue, but I have long suspected that the kind of weakness and infirmity depicted in this heart-warming story is probably far more accurate. This isn’t angsty, though. It’s a lovely glimpse of how wonderful it would be for Mark to return to the camaraderie and support of his crew as he recovers from the beating his body has endured. It’s inspiring and uplifting and very well written.

(This story rec is part of my AO3 Bookmarks series. I.e., this is an abbreviated rec because it is taken from my AO3 bookmarks rather than having been properly written in full.)

About Gioia

I'm a wife and mother and, when not tied up with responsibilities, I read non-stop. I love to share my favorite stories with others, thus the existence of my blog.
This entry was posted in AO3 Bookmark, Character Study, Chris Beck/Beth Johanssen, Content Rating-Martian: Teen (PG-13), Friendship/Mentorship, Gen, Hurt/Comfort, Martian, The, post-canon setting, Post-Rescue (on Hermes), Reunion-fic, Sci-Fi and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment